Week 2 – Scottle & 5 Things to Know

Scottle

So today I signed up for a Scootle account and started to have a look around – I was very happy to find a ton of information when searching simply ICT. For instance, I have been very concerned with how students will use ICT responsibly in the classroom, and this link here gives some great info on how to implement this. I also found this link, which I have skimmed through and I believe this may be useful for the first assignment so I am planning to refer back. 
I’m aware how important the PKM process is, so I’ve been trying very hard to keep up with it all. I have yet to use my diigo appropriately, mostly because of the issues I’ve had with pinterest and weheartit pins getting in the way of diigo and my stubbornness of wanting to make it work without having to delete my other pinning programs. I’m sure I will revisit diigo again soon. In relation to twitter, I’ve been making an effort there to post and keep in touch with other EDC310 students but I think I prefer reading through the blogs instead – 150 characters is just not enough! 
I also read through Postman’s 5 things we need to know about Technological change and found this to be a really interesting read, though I found it much better to understand whilst following along on the study desk. We were asked to come up with our own examples of one of these 5 ‘things’ and explain how it’s happened to us in life. 

I would like to go with the first idea: Technology is always a trade off.

“Technology giveth and technology taketh away. This means that for every advantage a new technology offers, there is always a corresponding disadvantage. The disadvantage may exceed in importance the advantage, or the advantage may well be worth the cost. Now, this may seem to be a rather obvious idea, but you would be surprised at how many people believe that new technologies are unmixed blessings.”

 

Personal Experience

In my own personal experience, I know that before I started using the internet for graphic design and did a cert in multimedia I was quite a creative drawer and use to do a lot of work with ink, pastels and heaps of other mediums. Now that I know how to use programs on the computer instead, and use photos for reference drawing things on paper from the top of my head is quite a difficult task. It’s not that it hasn’t helped encourage my creativity, because the selection of inspiring pictures and projects is large – it’s just that putting it to paper, or working without those pictures is now something I just don’t do anymore. 

Another personal experience that I think a lot of us have had with the introduction of computers and social media, is a lack of real, face-to-face interaction. Technology has given us the opportunity to speak with people living on the other side of the world, yet when it comes to having conversations with the people we know in real life – how many times have you been having a conversation with the other person stuck staring at their facebook news feed? We have been given the opportunity to know millions of people we wouldn’t have met with technology, though at the price of jeopardizing our existing real world relationships. 

Leave a Reply

