Week 1 – Toolbelt Theory, PD and learning via google

Okay, so first thing from this book in week 1 is this article that I came across and it really interested me. I kind of feel smug, because I literally teach myself everything via the internet. In the last year I have learnt how to create a website through a creator I hadn’t used before, advertise through social media, use Google ad words and analytics, sew, play guitar, play and tune the ukelele and I’ve even learnt how to better store my linen via facebook post!

image

no really, this is brilliant.

You see, I’ve been really fortunate to live in a generation that loves new technology and I have worked in fields that literally revolve around you studying things on the internet. In graphic design and multimedia, things change so fast that if you blink you could go down a whole pay grade. Another thing I’ve learnt is that really, you can play around as much as you want on the internet and nothing terrible is going to happen. I’ve played around with wix (the website creator I learnt to use) and guess what! I’ve stuffed up! Numerous times, and for paying clients, and it worked out okay! Yes what you do on the internet a lot of the time is permanent, in the way of pictures and words but when you are learning new programs or how to create source code – you can stuff up as much as you want and it actually helps you learn more about what you’re doing. A great example of this is my tumblr theme. I can’t tell you how many times I have made a column blow up twice the size I wanted it to be, or removed something from the code I didn’t intend to and messed everything up – but look at it now! For anyone reading this – just type in ‘code for pictures on website’

image

970,000,000 results. Seriously, it’s that easy.

Anything you want to learn via this internet is at your finger tips, if you know how to type in a url to get to google, you know how to learn things via the internet. It won’t always be right, but if you’re patient eventually you’ll get the hang of it.

The next thing is this video, which I think is absolutely hilarious because I’ve been there with so many people. This reinforces my point that it really isn’t that hard, and it’s not the end of the world if you get it wrong.
Then there is this picture, which is what I’ve learnt to do just by playing around, and it really does work.

image

Lastly for this entry, there is the Toolbelt Theory which I haven’t come across before. The theory itself is interesting because it’s very true – we need tools that work for us, and that doesn’t make us dis-abled, it just means that we are finding tools that help us do the jobs we need to do.
For instance, earlier in this entry I was outlining that I have taught myself so many things on the internet – that is my tool. Other people have different tools, much like multiple intelligences and I think as the course progresses I’d like to work with the toolbelt theory along with multiple intelligences and learning styles.

3 thoughts on “Week 1 – Toolbelt Theory, PD and learning via google

    • Thanks Carissa! I would love to be able to incorporate this with multiple intelligences and learning styles, mostly because I believe our learning styles, and the use of multiple intelligences can be very efficient tools for us to learn via 🙂
      Think I’ll be writing much more on this as the course goes on! Would love to hear your thoughts 🙂

  1. Pingback: Toolbelt Theory in Relation to Special Education | ICT In The Modern Classroom

Leave a Reply

